South Africa gears up for T20 WC action

South Africa

Johannesburg: South Africa has also announced its team for the T20 World Cup. Aiden Markram has been given the captaincy of the team for the tournament. South Africa will be eyeing to end the title drought. South Africa has surprisingly included Ryan Rickelton and fast bowler Otniel Bartman, both of whom are uncapped. These players showed their performance in SA20, after which they were selected.

South Africa has not given place to four veteran players, which include former captain Temba Bavuma, Riley Rousseau, Wayne Parnell and Rassie van der Dussen. Before the team was announced, there were speculations that former captain Faf Du Plessis would be included in the team. 20 could be selected for the World Cup, but it has not happened. Bavuma, Rousseau and Parnell were part of the last T20 World Cup, but this time they were dropped.

South Africa has selected the star players who are showing their talent in IPL 2024 for the T20 World Cup. Aiden Markram has shown his magic with the bat. Markram is a part of the IPL team Sunrisers Hyderabad. While Tristan Stubbs has been included, who is batting stormily in the IPL for Delhi Capitals.

Quinton de Kock, Gerald Coetzee, David Miller and Heinrich Klaasen are also showing their talent in the IPL and have been selected for the T20 World Cup.  T20 World Cup 2024 is to be hosted by America and West Indies in June.

South Africa’s team for T20 World Cup

Aiden Markram (captain), Otneil Bartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuyn, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Janssen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Norkhia, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.


Related posts