Omar Abdullah to contest from Srinagar

Srinagar: Former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister and National Conference (NC) vice president Omar Abdullah will contest the Lok Sabha elections from Srinagar constituency.

National Conference sources said Omar Abdullah will contest from Srinagar constituency, while former minister and senior party leader Chaudhary Mohammad Ramzan will contest from North Kashmir Baramulla seat.

The NC has already announced its candidate from Anantnag-Rajouri constituency, senior Gujjar/Bakarwal leader, Mian Altaf Ahmed.

On the other hand, former Chief Minister and People’s Democratic Party (PDP) President Mehbooba Mufti has also announced her decision to contest from Anantnag-Rajouri constituency.

PDP has fielded its youth wing president Waheed Para from Srinagar and former Rajya Sabha member Faiyaz Ahmed Mir from Baramulla seat.

BJP has not yet announced its candidates for the three Lok Sabha seats of Kashmir. The party has fielded Minister of State (PMO) Dr. Jitendra Singh from Kathua-Udhampur and Jugal Kishore Sharma from Jammu-Reasi seat.

NC and Congress have formed an alliance for the elections, in which NC will support Congress candidates on Jammu-Reasi and Kathua-Udhampur seats, while Congress will not field its candidates against NC on three seats in Kashmir.

Sajjad Gani Lone of People’s Conference (PC) is contesting the Lok Sabha elections from Baramulla constituency. Voting will be held in Kathua-Udhampur constituency on April 19, Jammu-Reasi on April 26, Anantnag-Rajouri on May 7, Srinagar on May 13 and Baramulla on May 20.


Related posts