Hemant Soren back to ruling ways

Ranchi: Jharkhand Governor CP Radhakrishnan has appointed Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) chief and former CM Hemant Soren as the new Chief Minister and also invited him to form the government. Hemant Soren  took oath as the 13th Chief Minister of Jharkhand at 5 pm today. However, the cabinet will be expanded later. The swearing-in ceremony was held at Morhabadi Ground in Ranchi.

CM Champai Soren submitted resignation to the Governor

Earlier in the morning, Hemant Soren reached the Raj Bhavan with the leaders of the JMM-Congress-RJD alliance and met Governor CP Radhakrishnan. On the call of the Governor, Hemant Soren along with the top leaders of the Bharat Alliance reached the Raj Bhavan, where he was handed over the formal appointment letter and invited to form the government.

Earlier, Jharkhand CM Champai Soren reached the Raj Bhavan at 7.15 pm on Wednesday and submitted his resignation to Governor CP Radhakrishnan. With this, the new leader of the ruling coalition, Hemant Soren, presented a letter of support of 45 MLAs to the Governor and staked claim to the new government.

Hemant Soren will become CM for the third time

This is the third time when Hemant Soren took oath as CM. He became CM for the first time in 2013. After this, in 2019, the JMM-Congress-RJD alliance contested the elections under the leadership of Hemant Soren and he became CM for the second time. Hemant Soren will be the third leader to take oath as CM in Jharkhand. Earlier, his father Shibu Soren and BJP’s Arjun Munda have been CM three times each.

Hemant Soren was arrested on January 31

On January 31, when Hemant Soren was arrested by the ED in a money laundering case related to the land scam, he resigned from the post of CM. In his place, Champai Soren, who was a part of his cabinet, took over as CM on February 2. After getting bail from the High Court after five months, Hemant Soren came out of jail on June 28 and on the sixth day, the coalition once again approved the decision to make Hemant Soren the CM in place of Champai Soren. There is a coalition government in Jharkhand. Which includes 27 MLAs of JMM, 17 of Congress and one MLA of RJD.


Related posts