Season finale of IPL 2024 at Chepauk on May 26

New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the remaining schedule of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2024). All IPL matches will be held in India. Earlier, the schedule of 21 matches was announced and it was said that the remaining matches will be announced keeping in mind the election schedule. The most important thing is that Chennai Super Kings will also play the first match of the second phase.

The second part of IPL 2024 will start on April 8.

The IPL 2024 playoffs will take place between May 21 and May 24 in Ahmedabad and Chennai, while the final will be played in Chepauk on May 26. The 22nd match of IPL 2024 will be played on 8 April. That means immediately after the first phase, the second phase will start without any interruption.

Due to the Lok Sabha elections to be held in India this year, BCCI had earlier announced the schedule of only 17 days. During this period, a total of 21 matches of the league are to be played till 7th April. According to the rest of the schedule released on Monday, the Qualifier 1 and Eliminator matches will be played on May 21 and 22 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Whereas the second qualifier and final match of the league will be played at Chepauk Stadium, Chennai on 24th and 26th May respectively.

Chennai previously hosted the IPL final in 2011 and 2012, while Ahmedabad hosted the title match in the 2022 and 2023 seasons respectively. BCCI had earlier released the IPL 2024 schedule for 21 matches. At that time the dates of Lok Sabha elections had not been announced. Now the elections will be held in seven phases from April 19 to June 1, while the counting of votes will take place on June 4.

The board stuck to its promise of hosting the entire IPL 2024 in the country, dismissing speculations about shifting the competition abroad due to the elections. The second part of IPL 2024 will begin on April 8 in Chennai, with defending champions CSK taking on two-time winners Kolkata Knight Riders.

The highlight of the schedule of the second part is CSK’s clash with Mumbai Indians. This exciting match of the tournament will be played at Wankhede Stadium on 14th April on the occasion of Tamil New Year Day. CSK’s second high-voltage encounter will be against Royal Challengers Bangalore on May 18 in Chennai, which is also their last league match. HPCA Stadium in Dharamshala and Barsapara Cricket Ground in Guwahati will also host two IPL matches of their home teams Punjab Kings and Rajasthan Royals respectively.

Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium will host its first IPL game of this season when Delhi Capitals hosts 2016 winners Sunrisers Hyderabad on April 20. After playing their first two matches in Visakhapatnam, Delhi Capitals will play all their remaining five matches at home. Meanwhile a total of seven matches are to be held in Lucknow’s Ekana stadium.

Related posts