SP candidate Iqra Choudhary makes news

Kairana: The Kairana Lok Sabha constituency vote count has been completed. On April 19, the first round of the Lok Sabha elections 2024 saw 62.46% of voters show out in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh. With a margin of 69,116 votes, Iqra Choudhary, the candidate of the Samajwadi Party, triumphs ahead of Pradeep Kumar of the BJP and Sripal of the BSP. About 261,399 Scheduled Caste (SC) voters live in Kairana, making up about 15.6% of the electorate overall.

With a margin of 5,66,961 votes, BJP leader Pradeep Kumar defeated SP candidate Tabassum Hasan, who finished with 4,74,801 votes, and Congressman Harendra Singh Malik, who earned 69,355 votes, in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Located in Uttar Pradesh’s Shamli district, the Kairana Lok Sabha seat was created in 1962 and consists of the Kairana, Shamli, Thana Bhawan, Nukud, and Gangoh assembly districts.

Samajwadi Party candidate Iqra Choudhary, 28, gained fame when she emerged victorious in her maiden try to capture the Kairana Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh. Many were surprised by Iqra’s triumph since she has a Master’s degree in International Politics and Law from SOAS University in London.

With Akhilesh Yadav, the head of the party, endorsing her, she won the Kairana seat on the SP ticket and defeated the BJP candidate with a commanding 69,116 votes. The 28-year-old graduated from the University of London’s School of Oriental and African Studies with a master’s degree in international law.

Iqra told news agency IANS, “My priority will be to work for my constituency, especially women, who are still backward and lack adequate educational facilities.”

Iqra’s victory is all the more noteworthy since it came in a region where the BJP had previously drawn attention to the problem of purported “Kairana migration.”


Related posts