President of India presents Padma Awards

New Delhi: The President of India,  Droupadi Murmu presented 2 Padma Vibhushan, 9 Padma Bhushan and 56 Padma Shri Awards for the year 2024 at the Civil Investiture Ceremony-II held with grandeur in Darbar Hall of the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

The Vice President of India,  Jagdeep Dhankhar, Prime Minister  Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister and Minister of Cooperation,  Amit Shah, many Ministers of the Union and other dignitaries were present on the occasion.

After the Investiture Ceremony, Union Home Minister and Minister of Cooperation,  Amit Shah and other Union Ministers interacted with the Padma Awardees at a dinner hosted by the Home Minister at his residence in New Delhi.

The Padma Awardees will pay homage at the National War Memorial tomorrow morning (May 10, 2024).They will also visit Rashtrapati Bhawan and  Pradhanmantri Sangrahalaya.

President Droupadi Murmu presented the prestigious Padma Awards at the Civil Investiture Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan in Delhi on Thursday. The event honoured individuals for their exceptional contributions in various fields, including social work, literature, education, journalism, and public affairs.
KS Rajanna, a social worker and State Commissioner for Persons with Disabilities, received the Padma Shri award for his dedicated efforts in promoting the welfare of differently-abled individuals. Despite losing both hands and legs to polio, Rajanna’s unwavering commitment to social causes earned him this recognition.
Another recipient of the Padma Shri was Chami Murmu, a social worker who has been actively involved in community service and environmental efforts. Upon receiving the award.
Chami Murmu expressed her joy, stating, “I am very happy to receive the Padma Shri award. In my field, I have worked on social service projects. I’ve been doing this work since 2009, but I never thought I would receive this award. I come from a tribal area, and I am very happy that now women from our community, who used to stay at home only doing household chores, are stepping out and working hard for their livelihood.”
In the field of literature and education, President Murmu conferred the Padma Shri to Sridhar Makam Krishnamurthy, who dedicated his award to his team and all those who contributed to the National Education Policy.
Krishnamurthy highlighted the significance of the new policy, stating, “I do not consider it my achievement. I dedicate it to all those who have worked in the field of education and the team who made the National Education Policy. It is the blessings of god that the government thought about educationists. This entire policy (National Education Policy) is a complete change with regard to all dimensions of education starting from a child of 3 years up to lifelong learning. There will be a change in all fields.”
The Padma Bhushan Awards were also presented to several notable individuals. Bhagwati Lal Raj Purohit was honoured for his contributions to literature and education. He acknowledged the support of Indian traditions and expressed gratitude to the current government for the recognition. Purohit said, “I am receiving this award from the Government of India for my work in education and literature. In a way, this is a gift from our Indian tradition, and I want to thank the current Indian administration.” Hormusji N Cama, a media veteran, received the Padma Bhushan in the field of journalism, while Satyabrata Mookherjee (posthumous) was honoured in the field of public affairs. The award for Mookherjee was received by his son, Sumendra Nath Mookherjee. The Padma Awards continue to celebrate the achievements of remarkable individuals across India, recognizing their significant contributions to society and inspiring future generations to follow in their footsteps.

Related posts