Race for BJP President begins

Markandey Pandey

Lucknow: The election of BJP national president is to be held, for which the number of contenders from UP is the highest. Party sources say that everyone has their own claims and arguments.

The 18th Lok Sabha has been formed and the National President of the Bharatiya Janata Party JP Nadda has taken oath as the Cabinet Minister. In such a situation, the party’s policy has been one person-one post. Due to which the BJP is brainstorming about its second national president in place of JP Nadda. Most of the leaders from UP are staking their claim to become the national president of the party.

Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya

The first name being considered for the post of national president of the party is Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya. Maurya’s strong point is that he has been the state president of a big state like Uttar Pradesh. And under his leadership, the BJP government was formed in Uttar Pradesh. Apart from this, Keshav Prasad Maurya is a backward face who influences backward votes not only in Uttar Pradesh but also in other states.

Six-time MP Pankaj Chaudhary

In the race for the national president, the name of Pankaj Chaudhary, who has been a Member of Parliament for six consecutive terms from Maharajganj Lok Sabha constituency in Uttar Pradesh, is also being considered. Pankaj Chaudhary belongs to the Kurmi caste. Chaudhary has a special influence on backward voters. Pankaj Chaudhary, who has a long parliamentary experience and follows the party’s policies, is considered a strong contender.

State Organization Minister Sunil BansalThe third name being considered is that of Sunil Bansal, who was the organization minister in Uttar Pradesh. During Sunil Bansal’s tenure as the state organization minister, the Bharatiya Janata Party won a landslide victory in Uttar Pradesh and formed the government. Sunil Bansal is said to be originally from Rajasthan. For a long time, he has worked as the full-time organization minister of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad in Rajasthan.

Smriti Irani is also in the race

There is also a discussion that BJP’s dynamic leader and former Union Minister Smriti Irani, who lost the Lok Sabha elections from Amethi seat, is also in the race for the BJP president. If BJP makes her the national president of the party, then this will be the first time that the national president of the Bharatiya Janata Party will be a woman.

Tawde from Maharashtra

Vinod Tawde, who has worked as a full-time worker of the Vidhyarthi Parishad in Maharashtra, has also been the Mumbai president of the Bharatiya Janata Party. Currently, Vinod Tawde is in the national team of the party and his name is also in the discussion for the post of national president.

In view of the assembly elections in some states in the coming few months and learning from the experience of the current Lok Sabha, there is a strong discussion about changes in the party organization and the state government. On the other hand, brainstorming has also started within the party regarding getting less seats than the target. This time, to compensate for the way Dalit and backward votes have moved away from the party, there is a possibility of a national president being made from the backward class. However, BJP has been surprising with its decisions and proving political predictions wrong.


Related posts