Bangla Tigers roar their way to Super 8

New York: Bangladesh on Monday made a big bang entry in the Super-8 round by defeating Nepal (BAN vs NEP) by 21 runs in a low scoring match in the 37th match of the T20 World Cup 2024 on the strength of its bowlers. Bangladesh team became the last team to reach the Super-8 round. Before Group D, South Africa had entered the next round.

In the Group-D match played in Kingston, Bangladesh batted first and the whole team was all out for 106 runs in 19.3 overs. In reply, the Nepal team collapsed for 85 runs in 19.2 overs. A total of 191 runs were scored in this match. Five batsmen of Nepal could not even open the account.

Nepal’s bad condition

Chasing the target of 107 runs given by Bangladesh, Nepal got off to a bad start. Tanjim Hasan Sakib clean bowled Kushal Bhurtel (4). Two balls later, Shakib got Anil Shah caught by Shanto. Shakib got his third wicket by getting Nepal captain Rohit Paudel (1) caught by Hussain. Soon Mustafizur Rahman got the second opener Asif Sheikh (17) caught by Shakib and gave Nepal its fourth blow.

Nepal’s batsmen proved the saying ‘you go, I will come’ and its last three batsmen could not even score. Tanzim Hasan Sakib took the maximum four wickets for Bangladesh. Mustafizur Rahman took three wickets. Shakib Al Hasan took two wickets. Taskin Ahmed was successful in taking one wicket.

Bangladesh’s batting flopped

Bangladesh, who came to bat first, also had a bad start. Sompal Kami sent Tanzid Hasan back to the pavilion on the very first ball of the innings. Kami caught Hasan’s catch on his own ball. Captain Nazmul Hussain Shanto (4) was clean bowled by Airy. After this, Liton Das (10) could not do anything special and returned to the pavilion after becoming Kami’s second victim.

Shakib Al Hasan (17) was the best scorer of the team. Apart from him, only Mahmudullah (13), Zaker Ali (12), Rishad Hussain (13) and Taskin Ahmed (12*) could score in double digits. From Nepal’s side, Sompal Kami, Dipendra Singh Airy, Rohit Paudel and Sandeep Lamichhane got two wickets each.


Related posts