Pat Cummins shakes things up with a hat – trick

Pat Cummins

New Delhi: Australian fast bowler Pat Cummins achieved a special feat by taking a hat-trick in the Super 8 match of the ICC T20 World Cup played against Bangladesh . This is the first hat trick in T20 World Cup 2024. Cummins became the seventh and second Australian bowler to take a hat-trick in the T20 World Cup. In this match played at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Australia defeated Bangladesh by 28 runs under DLS rule.

Pat Cummins bowled Mahmudullah Riyad on the fifth ball of the 18th over. Then on the sixth ball, Cummins got Mahedi Hasan caught by Adam Zampa. After this, he dismissed Tauheed Hridaya on the first dangerous ball of the last over. Before this, only Brett Lee had taken a hat-trick for Australia – that too against Bangladesh. Brett Lee completed a hat-trick in 2007 by dismissing Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza and Alok Kapali.

List of bowlers who took hat-tricks in ICC T20 World Cup-

Year Player Country Opponent Team

2007 Brett Lee Australia Bangladesh

2021 Curtis Campher Ireland Netherlands

2021 Wanindu Hasaranga Sri Lanka South Africa

2021 Kagiso Rabada South Africa England

2022 Karthik Meiyappan UAE Sri Lanka

2022 Josh Little Ireland New Zealand

2024 Pat Cummins Australia Bangladesh

Australia won with the help of DLS

Talking about the match, Australia won the toss and invited Bangladesh to bat first. Bangladesh scored 140 runs for 8 wickets in 20 overs. For Bangladesh, captain Nazmul Hussain Shanto scored 41 and Tauheed Hridaya scored 40 runs. Apart from these two, Liton Das scored 16 and Taskin Ahmed scored 13 runs. For Australia, Pat Cummins took a hat-trick by dismissing Tauheed Hridaya, Mahmudullah and Mahedi Hasan.

Apart from Cummins, Adam Zampa took 2 wickets, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Starc took 1-1 wickets. In reply, Australia scored 100 runs for two wickets in 11.2 overs but after that further play could not take place due to rain. At that time the score on DLS par was 72 runs, that is, the Kangaroo team won the match easily.


Related posts