Afghanistan unveils its squad for T20 WC


New Delhi: Afghanistan have announced their 15-man squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 scheduled to be held in West Indies and USA in June this year. Rashid Khan will lead the Afghanistan team. According to an ICC report, Afghanistan have made some changes to their squad compared to the 2022 edition, with Karim Janat, Mohammad Ishaq and Noor Ahmad being included in the squad.

Hashmatullah Shahidi did not get a place

However, Hashmatullah Shahidi, who led Afghanistan in the World Cup last year, has not been able to make it to the team. Young Nangyal Kharoti has found a place in the team. The 20-year-old impressed in that series, taking five wickets in three matches at an economy of just 5.90.

Another young Afghan player to secure a place is wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Ishaq, who was part of Afghanistan’s squads in the 2020 and 2022 Under-19 Men’s Cricket World Cups. Rashid will lead the spin department with the support of Mujeeb ur Rahman, Noor Ahmed, Nangyal Kharoti and the experienced Mohammad Nabi. Naveen-ul-Haq, Farid Ahmed and Fazalhaq Farooq have retained their places and form Afghanistan’s fast bowling line-up. Also read:-IPL 2024 Playoff: Mumbai Indians’ playoff hopes end with defeat! The real battle between these 5 teams

Afghanistan team for T20 World Cup 2024

Rashid Khan (captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper), Ibrahim Zadran, Azmatullah Umarzai, Mohammad Ishaq, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Nangyal Kharoti, Noor Ahmed, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Farid Ahmed Malik. Reserves: Hazratullah Zazai, Sediq Atal, Salim Safi.


Related posts