VVS Laxman to play coach to India in Zimbabwe T20

VVS Laxman

New Delhi: After winning the T20 World Cup 2024, now Team India has left for Zimbabwe for the T20 series. Where the Indian team will play a 5-match T20 series against Zimbabwe. After retiring, veteran players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja will not be in this team. The command of the team has been handed over to Shubman Gill.

Laxman will replace Dravid as coach

Also, VVS Laxman will replace Rahul Dravid as the head coach in the five-match T20 series to be held from 6 to 14 July. He has also taken over the coaching of the Indian cricket team before. Rahul Dravid’s journey with the Indian cricket team as the head coach ended on 29 June. The BCCI posted several pictures of the players and the coach leaving for Zimbabwe on social media.

Let us tell you that this will be the fourth time that Zimbabwe will host India in a T20 series, before this the two teams faced each other in 2010, 2015 and 2016 respectively. The first match of the five-match T20 series will be played in Harare on July 6. The Zimbabwe tour is the first major leadership at the international level for Shubman Gill, before this he was the captain of Gujarat Titans in IPL 2024.

These players got a chance for the first time
The Gill-led team includes Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag and Tushar Deshpande, who have been included in the national team for the first time. Abhishek, Riyan and Tushar have been included in the Indian team for the first time due to their excellent performance for their respective franchises in IPL 2024. Wicketkeeper-batsman Dhruv Jurel has been included in India’s T20 squad for the first time after playing three Tests for India in their 4-1 series win over England earlier this year.

Ind Vs Zim: Indian Team-
Shubman Gill (captain), Rituraj Gaikwad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel (wicketkeeper), Shivam Dubey, Riyan Parag, Ravi Bishnoi, Washington Sundar, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande, Khaleel Ahmed.

Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza (captain), Bennett Bryan, Akram Faraz, Campbell Jonathan, Jongwe Luke, Chatara Tendai, Kaia Innocent, Madande Clive, Masakadza Wellington, Mavuta Brandon, Madhevere Wesley, Marumani Tadiwanashe, Muzarabani Blessing, Myers Dion, Naqvi Antam, Ngarava Richard, Lion Milton.


Related posts