Teams that can spring a surprise in T20 WC

T20 WC

Washington: This time 20 teams are participating in the T20 World Cup to be held in America and West Indies, which have been divided into four groups of five each. Group ‘C’ includes two-time champion West Indies, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Uganda and Papua New Guinea.

West Indies and New Zealand are more likely to advance from this group. At the same time, the Afghanistan team cannot be taken lightly either. West Indies became the champion of T20 World Cup in 2012 and 2016 and this time the competition is to be held in their own country. In such a situation, their scales may be even heavier. New Zealand was the runner-up in 2021.

West Indies: (Winner- 2012, 2016)
The West Indies team has been the most successful team in the T20 World Cup. They won the title by defeating Sri Lanka in 2012 and England in 2016. This time the competition is being held in America and West Indies, which will give their team the advantage of home conditions. This time the command of the team has been handed over to Rovman Powell. All eyes will be on Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Romario Shepherd and Alzari Joseph.

New Zealand: This team was the runner-up in 2021, when Australia became the champion of the T20 World Cup under the leadership of Aaron Finch in Dubai. The New Zealand team showed a strong attitude in the World Cup. Their goal will be to continue their dominance in this competition, where they are one of the strongest teams.

New Zealand will be captained by Kane Williamson, who is known for his good strategy. Apart from Kane, the team will have eyes on Trent Boult, Daryl Mitchell and Rachin Ravindra.

Afghanistan: This team has played a total of 130 matches in two years and out of them they have managed to win 79 matches, which is a good figure in the international format. Looking at the performance of Afghanistan players in the IPL, we can definitely say that they are ready for a big competition. The team is led by Rashid Khan.

Afghanistan has now played 22 matches in the T20 World Cup, out of which it has won seven. Apart from Rashid, there will be expectations from Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Azmatullah Umarzai, Mujeeb ur Rahman.

Uganda: Uganda’s team is participating in the T20 World Cup for the first time. In the last two years, they have played 80 T20s and have won only 30 matches. However, this year, under the captaincy of Brian Masaba, the Ugandan team will work hard to prove itself in this competition. There are many young talents in the Ugandan team for the World Cup.

Papua New Guinea: This team is participating in the ICC T20 World Cup for the second time. Under the captaincy of Asadullah Vala, the Papua New Guinea team will try its best to prove itself this year. There are many young talents on the team, who would like to do better.


Related posts