Comfortable win for Rajnath Singh in Lucknow expected


Lucknow: Counting of votes for 542 out of all 543 Lok Sabha seats started at 8 am. After the voting of Lok Sabha elections 2024, the fate of all the political parties of the country including BJP and Congress will be decided today. Counting of votes has started and in the trends, NDA has again secured a majority. However, BJP is far from alone. Talking about UP, a close contest is being seen between SP-BJP here. Here the India alliance is giving stiff competition to the NDA.

However, one of the prestigious seats of the country, Lucknow parliamentary seat has been occupied by BJP since 1991. In the initial trends of the election results of Lok Sabha elections 2024, BJP candidate Union Defense Minister Rajnath Singh is leading. Saffron is waving in Lucknow since 1991  Rajnath Singh is trying his luck for the third time on this seat. In the general elections held for the 10th Lok Sabha, BJP’s Atal Bihari Vajpayee hoisted the saffron flag on this seat for the first time. After this, he made a record by winning five consecutive times in the elections of 1996, 1998, 1999 and 2004.

After the 2004 elections, Atal ji had distanced himself from active politics. In 2009, Lalji Tandon took the victory chariot forward on a BJP ticket from Lucknow. In 2014 and 2019, Rajnath Singh made the lotus bloom here. He is in the fray for the third time. This time with the victory, while Rajnath Singh will complete his hat-trick of victory, this will be the ninth victory of the BJP.

Rajnath Singh is pitted against Samajwadi Party candidate Ravidas Mehrotra. In the counting of Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh, till 11 am, Rajnath Singh is leading his nearest rival SP’s Ravidas Mehrotra by more than 19 thousand votes. In the 2019 general elections, Rajnath Singh defeated Poonam Shatrughan Sinha of SP by 3 lakh 47 thousand 302 votes. It will be important to see whether Rajnath Singh is able to increase his victory margin with a third win or not.


Related posts