KKR beat Mumbai Indians by 18 runs

Kolkata: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated Mumbai by 18 runs in the 60th match of IPL 2024 at Eden Gardens here on Saturday.

Due to rain the match started late and was reduced to 16-16 overs. Batting first, KKR scored 157/7 on the basis of brilliant innings by Venkatesh Iyer (42 in 21 balls) and Nitish Rana (33). In reply, Mumbai could only score 139/8.
Ishan Kishan (40 runs in 22 balls) and Rohit Sharma (19), who came as impact player, gave a good start to Mumbai. Both added 65 runs in 6.5 overs. Sunil Narayan got Ishaan caught at the boundary by Rinku Singh. After this, the pace of runs also got slowed down.

In the next over, Rohit was caught by Varun Chakraborty’s ball. Surya Kumar Yadav (11) also could not do anything special and was dismissed by Andre Russell in the 11th over. At that time the team’s score was 87 runs.
Captain Hardik Pandya (2) became Varun’s victim in the 12th over. Tim David was also out for zero on the first ball of the 13th over off the bowling of Russell.

Tilak Verma (32 runs off 17 balls) tried hard at one end, but did not get support from the other end. He was caught behind the wicket by Harshit Rana in the last over.

For KKR, Rana, Russell and Varun took two wickets each while Sunil Narayan took one wicket.

Earlier, after losing the toss and batting first, KKR scored 157 runs for seven wickets. Venkatesh Iyer scored maximum 42 runs with the help of two sixes and eight fours. Nitish Rana played an inning of 33 runs in 23 balls.
After early wickets fell early, Andre Russell (24 runs), Rinku Singh (20 runs) and Ramandeep Singh (17 runs) also played important innings in the middle order.

Nuwan Thushara gave the first blow to KKR on the score of six runs in the form of Phil Salt in the first over itself. Salt was caught out by Anshul Kamboj. In the next over, Bumrah bowled Sunil Narayan. In the fifth over, captain Shreyas Iyer was also bowled by Kamboj after scoring seven runs.

Despite wickets falling at regular intervals, KKR maintained the run rate around 10 throughout the innings.
Bumrah and Piyush Chawla took two wickets each for Mumbai. Thushara and Kamboj took one wicket each. Nitish Rana was run out by Tilak Verma.


Related posts