India gears up for Women’s T20 World Cup

Women's T20 World Cup

New Delhi: There was a time when cricket was called ‘Gentleman’s Game’, but in the last few years women’s cricket has gained a lot of popularity among the audience. In the last few years, the T20 format has given new impetus to women’s cricket.

Recently, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has released the schedule of Women’s T20 World Cup 2024. The Women’s T20 World Cup will start from October 3. The final match will be played in Dhaka on October 20.

A total of 10 teams will play in the Women’s T20 World Cup to be hosted by Bangladesh. A total of 23 matches including the final will be played between these 10 teams in 19 days. These 10 teams have been divided into two groups.

Every team of each group will get a chance to play 4-4 matches. The top-2 teams of each group will qualify for the semi-finals. Then there will be a playoff battle between the four teams. On October 4, India will play the first match of this tournament against New Zealand in Sylhet. Matches will be played in Dhaka and Sylhet

All the matches of Group A will be played at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium in Sylhet, while the matches of Group B will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka. At the same time, the semi-finals will be played on 17 and 18 October. The final match will be played in Dhaka on 20 October.

Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 – Team and Group

Group A consists of Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan. Group B includes Bangladesh, England, South Africa, West Indies. The Qualifier 1 and 2 teams will be announced after the results of the ongoing ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in Abu Dhabi, UAE. The top two teams of both the groups will qualify for the semi-finals to be held on 17 and 18 May.

How was the performance of the Indian team in 2020

The seventh edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup (Women’s T20 World Cup 2024) was played in 2020. It was organized in Australia from 21 February to 8 March. Host Australia defeated India by 85 runs. The host team won its fifth title by winning the tournament. The final match was held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. In this tournament, India was the first team to qualify for the semi-finals by registering three wins in its first three matches. India won its final group game against Sri Lanka and topped Group A. In 2020, India reached the final of the Women’s T20 World Cup for the first time.


Related posts