Pakistan is now part of the UN Security Council

Islamabad: Five countries, including Pakistan, were  elected as temporary members for a two-year term starting in 2025. The 193-member United Nations General Assembly held elections for the five vacant seats through secret ballot.

The Security Council, an important unit of the United Nations that is responsible for international peace and security, has five permanent and ten temporary members. Elections were held on Thursday for the five vacant seats of temporary members. Pakistan, Somalia, Denmark, Greece and Panama were elected as temporary members in the election.

Somalia got 179 and Pakistan got 182 votes for the two seats of African and Asia-Pacific countries. Panama got 183 votes for Latin American and Caribbean countries and Denmark got 184 and Greece got 182 votes for Western European and other countries.

These newly elected member countries will replace Japan, Mozambique, Ecuador, Malta and Switzerland. Their term ended on December 31. The two-year term of the five new members will begin from January 1, 2025.

Pakistan Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif expressed happiness over being elected as a temporary member of the United Nations Security Council and called it a moment of pride. He said in an interview that Pakistan is eager to work with the international community to deal with global challenges. We will continue to play our role to promote peace, stability and cooperation among countries.


Related posts